…to have a fiancé

6

2011/04/17 by Elizabeth

People keep correcting me when I say things like, “My boyfriend and I have no plans for the weekend” – not because we’ve actually agreed to attend something and subsequently forgotten (although that does happen more often than you’d think) – but because they feel I should be saying “My fiancé and I…”.

Those italics are not just for emphasis – I think they represent the way people say the word fiancé.  It’s somewhat onomatopoeic – you can’t say it without sounding like a wanker. And I avoid using it whenever I can.

I’m a fan of a lot of ‘F’ words – fun, fuck, fruitloops, fantasmagorical, flotsam… But this ‘F’ word I’m not so keen on. Don’t get me wrong, I love that I’m in the position of HAVING a fiancé, I just don’t want to call him that. It doesn’t suit him – it doesn’t suit us.

I’m not that thrilled with saying “my boyfriend” either, to be honest – it has always sounded very high schoolish to me. So, I tend to default to saying “my partner” – although having short hair and living in the suburb we do, I’m sure many people have been left with the impression I’m a lesbian if Mr Sweetpants isn’t nearby when I say “my partner and I” (not that there’s anything wrong with that).

Thankfully, we’re planning a short engagement, so I won’t have to excuse or disguise my lack of love for the ‘F’ word for too long. Then I can call him “my husband”, and he can call me his “ball and chain/trouble and strife”. Or we can just introduce each other using our actual names. How novel!

While we’re on the subject of objectionable words – moist. Horrible.  And panties? WHY do American sitcom characters insist on using that word to describe their knickers? Urgh. And don’t even think about combining the two…

6 thoughts on “…to have a fiancé

  1. Trixie says:

    And the place name “Chullora”. Makes me queasy. Agree fiance is objectionable and best avoided.

  2. Trixie says:

    I mean avoid the TERM. Obv.

    • The Girl says:

      Haha – it’s okay. Mr Sweetpants can be objectionable and best avoided sometimes. Especially the morning after a big night of beer and indian food 🙂

  3. jessanomic says:

    love love love the blog. i always wanted to do a wedding blog.
    agree entirely on ‘panties’ and ‘moist’. just horrid

  4. Thank you for a great post.

Leave a Reply

Previous posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Retraction Watch

Tracking retractions as a window into the scientific process

talesbytails

A good story needs telling.

Rebecca The Wrecker

Putting the Orc into awkward

thelilbeanie

pregnancy, motherhood and beyond

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

